Mixing Up Some Mixer Art

1 Jan

I’ve been dying for more chances to use my Silhouette but we’ve unfortunately been out of town quite a bit with the holidays.  We went to my parents house this weekend to celebrate Christmas and I decided to bring to my new toy with me.  As we were browsing Pinterest, we stumbled on some vinyl mixer art.  This got the wheels turning and we headed to HobLob to pick up some white vinyl.  I download the Cooking Utensils shape for my Silhouette as well as the Spatula shape.  Some copying and pasting and I was in business!

I measured the mixer and used about 7.5″ tall and 8″ long, so using the grid in the Silhouette Studio, I made it exactly these dimensions.  Once I had the design done, I didn’t a quick test cut with cardstock and then loaded up the white vinyl.

This is the negative space once I pulled it off my template.

After I had my utensils cut out, I used transfer paper to pull them off the vinyl and make the adhering on the mixer a piece of cake.

I know there are lots of fancy tools for this, but I used the Pampered Chef scraper to transfer from the transfer paper to the mixer.

After you have made sure your vinyl is adhered, it’s time to peel it back and see the big reveal.

TaDa!  It was super easy and turned out SO cute.  My momma’s mixer has never looked better.

Did you do any crafting for the New Year??  Who else is lovin’ the vinyl on appliances trend?!?!

Linked up with: A Bowl Full of Lemons, The Southern Product Queen, Savvy Southern Style, One Project Closer

Pin It

8 Responses to “Mixing Up Some Mixer Art”

  1. bvoborilril January 1, 2012 at 10:40 am #

    You got a Silhouette???!! Jealous!!!

    • Elizabeth- DIY Theory January 1, 2012 at 10:44 am #

      Steve did a good job this year :-) Next time you come through you’ll have to stop over and play with me!

  2. Mom and Dad January 1, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

    I love my new mixer look. Thank you!

  3. Mel January 3, 2012 at 11:20 am #

    So cute!

  4. Cottage and Broome January 4, 2012 at 12:08 am #

    How fun was that!!! Very cute make over. Laura

  5. Jen January 4, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

    I LOVE it!! I just got a new red KitchenAid for Christmas. I want to dress it up, but I think I need to let it soak in my head that I actually got my mixer for Christmas first, lol!

    • Elizabeth- DIY Theory January 4, 2012 at 1:48 pm #

      hahaha, it’s funny how that works isn’t it :-) Congrats on the red KitchenAid!

  6. The Southern Product Queen January 5, 2012 at 12:05 am #

    Thank you so much for joining my linky party! This post rocks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 546 other followers

